82.62 F
Washington DC
June 22, 2021
Satenaw Ethiopian News/Breaking News

Who won the London Marathon 2017? Results, prize money and more

MARY KEITANY produced a stunning run to win her third London Marathon title and set a record in the process.

Keitany had been on pace to set the fastest time ever but ended up finishing in 2:17.01 – a record for a women’s-only race.

Paula Radcliffe went 90 seconds faster when she won the 2003 London Marathon but she had male pace-makers and the IAAF, athletics’ governing body, differentiate the marathon record into mixed gender and women’s-only.

Radcliffe had also been the holder of the women’s-only record thanks to her time in the 2002 Chicago Marathon but Keitany squeezed past that by 17 seconds.

Tirunesh Dibaba 2:17.56 while Ethiopia team-mate Aselefech Mergia came in third in a time of 2:23.08.

The royals cheer on runners in the 2017 London Marathon

 In the men’s elite race, Daniel Wanjiru posted a time of 2:05.48, holding off a late challenge from Kenenisa Bekele.
Both elite winners will take home nearly £43,000 while the prizes for second and third come in at £23,000 and £17,000.

London Marathon 2017 winner David WeirPA

London Marathon 2017 winner David Weir

David Weir won an incredible seventh London Marathon title, taking a thrilling men’s wheelchair race by just a second from Switzerland’s Marcel Hug.

The Brit produced a sensational sprint finish up The Mall to win in a time of 1:31.06.

London Marathon 2017: Kenya’s Mary Keitany breaks women-only world record

Mary Keitany
Mary Keitany crosses the line in a world-record time CREDIT: PA
  • London Marathon tracker: Follow friends and family
  • Kenyan Daniel Wanjiru holds off Kenenisa Bekele to win men’s race
  • David Weir wins his 7th London Marathon in men’s wheelchair
  • Kenya’s Mary Keitany wins women’s elite event in world record time

Kenya’s Mary Keitany set a new world record to win the women’s London Marathon as Daniel Wanjiru took victory in the men’s race.

Earlier, Britain’s David Weir won a record seventh wheelchair title to clinch his first victory in London since 2012.

Keitany broke Paula Radcliffe’s 12-year women’s only marathon record to post two hours 17 minutes and one second.

In the men’s race, Kenyan Wanjiru held off the challenge of Kenenisa Bekele, who holds the 5,000 metres and 10,000 metres world records as well as eight Olympic and world titles, to win.

Daniel Wanjiru
Daniel Wanjiru wins the men’s race CREDIT: AFP

It was the biggest victory of his career, having previously won the 2016 Amsterdam Marathon.

In the wheelchair race Weir clinched victory on Sunday in one hour 31 minutes and six seconds after a sprint finish to beat defending champion Marcel Hug by just a second.

Weir, taking part for an 18th consecutive year, won the Paris Marathon earlier this month and followed it with success in his home race.

Rafael Botello Jimenez was third after a dramatic finish on The Mall as Weir passed Tanni Grey-Thompson’s six victories.

David Weir
David Weir wins his seventh London Marathon CREDIT: REUTERS

Six-time Paralympic champion Weir had hinted he was ready to postpone retirement to continue to focus on road racing after he walked away from Team GB following last year’s disappointing Paralympics.

Soon after Weir’s victory Keitany crossed the line, having broken away from the pack after just five kilometres.

She also set a new course record as she beat Radcliffe’s previous women’s only record of two hours 17 minutes and 42 seconds, set at the London Marathon in 2005.

Radcliffe still holds the women’s world record of 2:15.25, set at the London Marathon in 2003 when she ran against men and women.

Keitany beat Ethiopia’s Tirunesh Dibaba, who finished second, after Dibaba began to struggle on the Embankment, even stopping at one point as she appeared to clutch her stomach. Ethiopia’s Aselefech Mergia finished third.

Alyson Dixon was the first British runner across the line, finishing 12th, to seal her spot in GB’s squad for the summer’s World Championships as five-time Olympian Jo Pavey dropped out after 16 miles.

In the women’s wheelchair race Switzerland’s Manuela Schar took the title for the first time.

Reports to follow

Our live coverage is coming to an end, but for many their race is only half done. I’ll leave the last word to them, an inspiration and kick up the backside to the rest of us.

Related posts

This World is Led by Immoral Scoundrels


Andargachew Tsige’s family delivers petition signed by 130,000 people to the office of UK Prime Minister


Ethiopia: many dead in anti-government protest at religious festival – The guardian