69.82 F
Washington DC
June 14, 2021
Satenaw Ethiopian News/Breaking News

Hailemariam Desalegn announces appointment of 21 new ministers

Hailemariam Desalegn has announced on tuesday  appointment of 21 new ministers  amid a political chaos which have led to the declaration of a state of emergency.

There are no fresh faces among the appointed ministries.

Foreign Minister Tedros Adhanom is replaced by the controvercial Workneh Gebeyehu Gebre Kidan.  Defence Minister Siraj Fegessa – who is overseeing the state of emergency – remains in his position.

Below is the new list posted on FanaBC:

Cabinet members who remained in their previous posts:-

1. Deputy Prime Minister Demeke Mekonnen

2. Siraj Fegessa – Minister of Defense

3. Kassa Tekleberhan- Minister of Federal Affairs and Pastoral Area Development

4. Dr Debretsion Gebremichael –Minister of Communication and Information Technology

5. Ahmed Abitew –Minister of Industry

6. Getachew Ambaye- Attorney General

7. Abdulfetah Abdulah – Minister of Labor and Social Affairs

8. Dr Yinager Dese- Commissioner of National Planning Commission

9. Asmelash Woldesilasie – Chief Government Whip

Newly appointed cabinet members

1. Dr Workneh Gebeyehu – Minister of Foreign Affairs

2. Tagese Chafo- Minister of Public Service and Human Resource Development

3. Dr Abreham Tekeste- Minister of Finance and Economic Cooperation

4. Dr Bekele Gulado- Minister of Trade

5. Professor Fekadu Beyene- Minister of Livestock and Fishery

6. Dr Eyasu Abrha- Minister of Farming and Natural resources

7. Dr Engineer Getahun Mekuria- Minister of Science and Technology

8. Ahmed Shide- Minister of Transport

9. Dr Ambachew Mekonnen- Minister of Urban Development and Housing

10. Engineer Aisha Mohammed- Minister of Construction

11. Dr. Engineer Sileshi Bekele- Minister of Water, Irrigation and Eelectricity

12. Motuma Mekassa- Minister of Mines Petroleum and Natural Resources

13. Dr Gemedo Dale- Minister of Environmental, Forest and Climate Change

14. Dr Shiferaw Tekelemariam – Minister of Education

15. Professor Yifru Berhane- Minister of Health

16. Dr Girma Amente- Minister of Public Enterprise

17. Dr Hirut Woldemariam- Minister of Culture and Tourism

18. Demitu Hambissa- Minister of Women’s and Children’s Affairs

19. Ristu Yirdaw- Minister of Youth and Sports

20. Kebede Chane- Minister of Ethiopian Revenues and Costumes Authority

21. Dr Negeri Lencho- Minister of Government Communication Affairs Office

Related posts

A protest rally was held in Washington, DC for Ali Mohammed


BBN Daily Ethiopian News September 1, 2017


Protests against the TPLF in Washington DC